The Eco-Adventure Series

Copyright 2016 John Morano • All rights reserved
Book 1: A Wing and A Prayer

Now in its sixth edition, A Wing and A Prayer is the first book in the Morano Eco-Adventure series. It is a story that is often compared to such works as Jonathon Livingston Seagull, Watership Down, and The Jungle Books. Published by Grey Gecko Press in a special 25th Anniversary Edition with illustrations by artist Sarah Anderson, it tells the story of Lupe’, a Guadalupe’ Island petrel who believes he might be the last of his kind. 

Learn more about A Wing and A Prayer. 
Book 2: Makoona

The second book in the Eco-Adventure Series, Makoona is the inspiring story of Binti, a female octopus who lives in the Makoona coral reef, and Kemar, a Cambodian refugee-boy who fishes the reef. 

Learn more about Makoona
Book 3: Out There, Somewhere

Morano sets his third Eco-Adventure in SeaTopia, a large aquarium built on a Florida beach. The story traces the lives of several residents; a dolphin family, a turtle, a stargazer, an angelfish, a manatee, an octopus and a coelacanth, among others. How did these creatures come to SeaTopia? What did they leave behind? What is it like to live in an aquarium? Who are these humans who care for and interact with them? And most importantly will they ever continue their lives out there, somewhere?

Learn more about Out There, Somewhere.

Book 4: Flocks of One

The fourth book in the Eco-Adventure Series brings Lupe’, Zomis, Kemar, Stithl, and other characters from previous books back to print; while introducing new main characters like Azul, a Spix’s Macaw, Gonzo, an Ivory-billed Woodpecker, a ruby-throated hummingbird named Thrice, and Bardus, a barred owl who only speaks lines from The Bard, Shakespeare. Flocks of One transports readers to incredible habitats like the Caatinga of Brazil, the Galapagos Islands, and the Pine Barrens of New Jersey, among other fascinating wild places.

An action-packed story that deals with some of the planet’s most highly endangered creatures, Flocks of One is scheduled to be released in 2017 by Grey Gecko Press in its debut edition.

The books in the John Morano Eco-Adventure Series are endorsed by World Wildlife Fund, The Nature Conservancy, The Ocean Conservancy, and The American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, among other top-shelf environmental groups.
"Morano redefines a classic genre. His eco-adventures speak to the young readers of today and allows them to look at the world around them and actually care about it." 
-Jennifer Anna; Author, Literary Critic
"Morano's Eco-Adventure Series is triumphant on all fronts. He pulls out... the beautiful and dangerous world of birds, fish and more without drenching those worlds in violence... it is this balancing act that spotlights his talent as a writer and the sincere adult heart behind all that he writes." 
-The Brilliant Review
"A completely new approach to writing... like many animated classics, this is a story the whole family can enjoy." 
-Terry Lipshetz, Home News Tribune
"... [Morano has] creatively touched upon major subjects of contemporary interest, and I trust that  [his] work will remain in print and discover a very large and appreciative audience." 
  - Gay Talese, bestselling author